Museo Pietro Canonica

facilitated menu

skip to:
content. search, section. languages, menu. utility, menu. main, menu. path, menu. footer, menu.

Share |

The private apartment

In the oldest wing of the building is the apartment in which Pietro Canonica lived and worked from the 16th August 1927 until the 8th June 1959, the day on which he died. The apartment was opened to the public in 1988 and became part of the museum’s itinerary after the death of Maria Assunta Riggio Canonica, the artist’s second wife, who continued to live in the house after the sculptor’s death. Signora Riggio was indeed nominated “Honorary Conservator” of the Canonica Archive by the Municipality of Rome.
The rooms of the appartment were restored and completely furnished by Pietro Canonica in an XVIII century Piedmontese style, giving pre-eminence to a conception of the representative spaces which proclaim his public image. These rooms, therefore, mirror the spirit of the artist, his times and his social circle, creating in the wide spectrum of Roman museums a unique example of a museum-house.


In the small corridor which connects the Room of the fireplace to the Studio, there are displayed along the walls: thirteen figured autograph paintings by the artist, several landscapes of the countryside around Viterbo, a seascape of the Forte dei Marmi, a view of the Po from the artist’s studio in Turin, particularly interesting for the period in which Canonica was attending the Academy, and a painting representative of the title Sister Luigina at the Fortezzuola.
These works are expressed as simple compositions inspired by truth and executed with careful pictorial methods which recall the taste of the Turin landscape school of the late nineteenth century.
In the first room on the left is the Canonica Library which holds the interesting book collection left by the artist, recently opened to the public and enriched by new bibliographic acquisitions.

P. Canonica
Inv. C. 325
P. Canonica
inv. C. 302

back to facilitated menu.